Always Here And Ready To Fight For You

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Law
  4.  » DUI/DWI

Dedicated And Trusted DUI Defense Counsel

If you are facing drunk driving charges, you need legal help right away. The state of Tennessee takes driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs very seriously. A conviction could affect your ability to drive and your employment, and you can never have it expunged from your record.

You need a trusted legal advocate who is dedicated to fighting for your rights. I am defense attorney G. Chance Harrison, a member of the firm Valliant Harrison Schwartz Bodie. You can rely on me to provide you with a vigorous defense throughout your case.

DUI Defined In Tennessee

DUI laws look fairly similar across most states, with variations in the name and penalties. Some states call it driving while impaired (DWI), but in Tennessee, we have DUIs. For the most part, you cannot drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more. In Tennessee, if you are under the age of 21, the police may charge you with underage DUI.

The penalties for a drunk driving conviction can include the following:

  • First offense – Penalties include between two days and nearly one year in jail, fines of up to $1,500, and a one-year license revocation. You may also have an ignition interlock device installed on your car and ordered to attend an alcohol or drug treatment program.
  • Second offense – You face a minimum of 45 days to nearly one year in jail, up to $3,500 in fines, and a two-year license revocation. You must also have an ignition interlock device installed on your car and must attend an alcohol or drug treatment program.
  • Third offense or more – With a third offense, you face a minimum of 120 days to nearly one year in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, and up to a six-year license revocation, plus the penalties listed above. Beyond three offenses, you may face felony charges.

Certain circumstances can affect the penalties. For example, if you caused an accident that injured or killed another person, or if you had a child in your car, you may face a felony charge.

Many people assume if they have a BAC of .08% or more, they face an automatic conviction. You do still have defenses available, however. I will work with you to challenge your charges from the initial stop to your blood alcohol testing.

What If You Refuse To Take A Chemical Test?

Tennessee has an implied consent law, which means that you agree to take a breath test or some other BAC test upon the request of law enforcement as a condition of your license. If you refuse the test, the state will most likely suspend your license for at least one year.

This is a civil offense rather than a criminal offense. It is separate from a DUI charge, and you will not face jail time for a violation. You can still face an implied consent violation even if you are acquitted on the DUI charge, however. The penalty is administrative and can be more severe for multiple violations. You can apply for a restricted license in order to still drive to work.

Contact A Committed DUI Lawyer Today

For an aggressive, committed DUI defense, contact G. Chance Harrison, Attorney At Law right away. I offer free initial consultations to get started. You can schedule yours by calling my Knoxville office at 865-234-2138 or filling out my online contact form.